Kim Meets World

A blog raveled in randomness

Books of 2013

The past few months have been crazy, and I did not have the time to write on this blog. My life is still a bit hectic even though we just greeted 2014, but I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who feels this way. So moving on! I thought the best way to close 2013 for me on this blog (though I realize that I am writing this in 2014) is to share some books that I have read last year. I saw a Youtube video done by Ariel Besset, and I thought her way of organizing her reading year was clean and clear. Inspired by that video, I wanted to write this post. However my list of books are small, so I want to recommend two books that I read in 2013 :

1. Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre BBC 2005

Written by Charlotte Bronte in 1847, Jane Eyre is an important English novel studied by students (and professors) all around the world. This is a novel that is often shelved as “the worst” by some students who suffered in English classes, but luckily, I did not read this in high school. I read this during the summer of 2013, and I absolutely loved it! I had some prejudice against this book since is was written before the 20th century. However, I trust the taste of another You(book)tuber, the Readables, and she strongly recommended this book to her viewers.

This novel is an autobiography of a fictional character called Jane Eyre, and starting from her childhood, she tells her story in her point of view (about the people she met, the places she lived, and how she became to be the present Jane Eyre). The first thing I like about is that the life of Jane Eyre can be understood by most people even in this century. Even though the book was written way before I was born, I was able to relate to the thirst Jane Eyre had for the “power of vision”, the hatred and bitterness she felt towards Mr. and Mrs. Reed, and the emotional loss and personal determination she experienced and gained while meeting other female characters in her story. Jane Eyre goes through the ups and downs of life (in extreme situations), and she is able to survive on her own whether she is at the peak or at the very pit of her storyline. Her passion, determination, and the strong independence she has was what really made me want to be like Jane Eyre. Many of my friends argue that Jane Eyre is not as articulate as Elizabeth from Pride and Prejudice, but I don’t know. I can identify with Jane more than Elizabeth. I guess in terms of teams, I was team Jane while most of my female classmates were team Elizabeth.

2. Fangirl

Fangirl

This was absolutely an amazing book, and the only negative thing that I could think of is that this book was not long enough. I need more! Published in 2013, this book is a young adult contemporary novel following the life of Cather. This is a coming-of-age story about a girl named Cather who is a fresh college student struggling with her new life on campus. She has a twin sister named Wren, but with her constant absence, Cather (the more introvert one) needs to learn how to live outside her comfort zone. This book is a much easier and faster read compared to Jane Eyre, but that does not mean the level of I-cannot-put-this-book-down is any less with Fangirl. Other than the funny jokes, I was able to relate to the problems that Cather dealt with as a college student. Jane Eyre is more of a role model for me while Fangirl directly reflects on my present, personal life. I do not want to spoil anything from this book since I strongly recommend for those who like reading romantic, contemporary cute stories. All I can say is that there was a moment where I had to actually close a book and swear at a certain character. I slapped my forehead and muttered to myself about this certain character’s behavior. Yes, that happened. And that’s just one example.

And that cover! It’s so cute!

I wanted to talk about other books like Please Look After Mom by Shin Kyung-Suk, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and Stardust by Neil Gaiman, but I think I’ll write the two books that I am most passionate about right now.

I wish you guys a happy new year, and I hope you have a better (or equally amazing) year compared to our last one!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 2, 2014 by in Books, Recommendations and tagged , , , , , , , .
