Kim Meets World

A blog raveled in randomness

Lessons from Childhood #1

The majority of my childhood memories are muzzled, but lessons taught through cartoons I had read or movies I had watched were subconsciously planted during those lost times. I took the time to reflect on what I learned from those ‘childish’ stories and what ideas became part of the present-me without the constantly growing-me knowing.

1. Timon and Pumbaa raising Simba

From 'Lion King'  (1994)

From ‘Lion King’ (1994)

Disney movies hold a big part of my childhood and the first movie of Lion King was no exception to this passage of growing-up. I had learned quite a lot of lessons from Walt Disney including never give up or believe in yourself with clear lines of what is evil and what is good. But these ideals were white washed as I tried to survive in high school. The lesson I still keep in heart is how Timon and Pumbaa raised Simba and the cub turned out fine.

If you do not know what I am getting at, I will articulate: two father figures has raised a kid and the kid turned out to be a wonderful brave cub. Yes. I support same-sex marriage and I think Timon and Pumbaa is a couple that can exemplify that if two adults are in their right hearts (want to raise a kid together) then the kid will grow like in any other married couples. Hakunamatata!

2. A black queen and a white king produces an ‘asian’ prince

From 'Cinderella' (1997)

From ‘Cinderella’ (1997)

Among my small group of friends, I realized that I do not have a strong notion of race. For example, I would take glimpses of my surrounding and in my eyes, people around me have an homogeneous identity. Though the skin colors are different, in my mind I believe that we have an international mind that makes us come from the same country called Earth. And I think I gained this perception because of a Cinderella movie in 1997 that starrs Whitney Houston as the fairy godmother. The strong image that pertains in my mind till today is the royal family.

The queen is played by Whoopi Goldberg (as you know an African American actress), the king is played by Victor Garber (white actor) and the prince by Paolo Montalban (Filipino-American actor). In this musical movie, the logic was that an Asian looking man was born between his African American mother and white father. I guess I took that logic when I was a child and buried it deep inside my brain. Remove the scientific facts of genetics, the royal family is a perfect family!

3. Imagination is not weird

'Calvin and Hobbes'

‘Calvin and Hobbes’

I read a lot of comic books including some manga when I was young, but I have to say Calvin and Hobbes are the most memorable characters for me when growing up. And I still believe that Hobbes was not an imaginary friend of Calvin. He was real. Real enough for his parents not to think of their son as ‘crazy’ or drag Calvin to a hospital to get better. Imagination is not crazy but real. Be creative because those imaginary worlds might help to escape the real world from time to time. Though an overdose of imaginary dimensions can cause disturbance to one’s mental balance, a well-harnessed yet very wild imagination is a healthy habit to take on!

Do you remember parts of your childhood memories that define who you are today?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2013 by in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
