Kim Meets World

A blog raveled in randomness

Bookstore Hunt #5

Today’s bookstore hunt was not as successful as I thought it would be. The places I visited were very specific in book genres, which were not great interests of mine, and I simply had to stop using money this week for next week. I do not know if you had felt this way, but I just want to quickly graduate and find a job so I could spend my money on books. Part-time jobs are not enough for me! So even though I bought nothing from these bookstores, I still wanted to share the places I have visited in central London.

1. Jarndyce

Jarndyce

Jarndyce

Jarndyce situated near the British Museum is an antiquarian bookstore that sells eighteenth and nineteenth century English literature and other genres during that time period. You need to ring the door bell to enter the book shop, and it is really quiet since people were more interested in the coin collection that were on display at the next store. The books are not available at many bookstores, so the expenses for these eighteenth or nineteenth century books are of course pricy. The bookstore also has its own personal greeting cards that has a cover of a vintage drawing, which I quite liked.

1. Persephone Books

Persephones Books

Persephone Books

Persephone Books is near Russell Square station and this tidy place sells reprinted books (mainly written by female writers) from the mid-twentieth century. When I looked at the covers of the books, I did not recognize a lot of titles. When I checked their website after the visit, the Persephone Books website states that they reprint ‘neglected fiction and non-fiction’ classics. This quiet bookstore has given a breathe of realization that there are too many books in this world that we need to read in such a short lifetime. What I also liked about the books in this store was the simplistic covers with a clear typeface. I am currently reading ‘One Day’ by David Nicholls, which I bought at an Oxfam bookstore. I am enjoying the book, but I do get annoyed by the cover because I have to see the movie poster every single time I take the book out of my bag. Not commercialized or too decorative, the books at Persephone Books are likable in that way.

3. Arthur Probsthain

Tea and Tattle

Tea and Tattle

Tea & Tattle is near the British Museum and it is a tea room that is connected to a bookstore called ‘Arthur Probsthain’. Arthur Probsthain is an oriental and African bookseller and they sell new books as well as secondhand books that were mainly concentrated on the history and culture of Asian and African countries. I was surprised to see that they also had a very few collection of books that were written in the local language (for example, I saw a book written in Korean language). The first thing you would notice when you go inside would be the smell of tea and snacks. The ‘Tea & Tattle’ is downstairs and being greeted with a smell of tea was nice (I am a tea-lover). They also sell a few packs of tea near the main door and a few accessories such as bracelets near the cashier. The bookstore is quiet small but they do have a sufficient amount of secondhand book as well as DVD/CDs that you can look through.

LINKS

Jarndyce website: http://www.jarndyce.co.uk/index.php

Persephone Books website: http://www.persephonebooks.co.uk/

Tea and Tattle website: http://www.apandtea.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2013 by in Books, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
