Kim Meets World

A blog raveled in randomness

Bookstore Hunt #1

I am a study abroad student, so I am staying in London for only a semester (which started in January and will end in March). I will live in this wonderful city till the end of May, so I am trying to see London as much as I can. I have been going to museums and galleries, strolling in parks, taking pictures of food, and watching a lot of performances. Another thing I started to do was looking for bookstores. Not Waterstones and WHSmith, which were the only bookstores recommended to me. I started to look for other bookstores in London, and I have found a few of my favorites. I hope to visit them often and buy more books before I leave. Who needs new clothes? I need to buy books!

1. Judd Books

Judd Books

Judd Books

This was my favorite bookstore that I have visited today. There was a vast collection of secondhand books inside, and the ones that were displayed outside were special offers at cheap prices. Located on Marchmont Street, Judd Books has a very quiet environment and few people silently looking through the shelves. Leisure time was enclosed by neatly stacked books on tables and shelves, and I felt as if I could just be there forever choosing those wonderful books at random and flipping through the first few pages. In a busy city like London, I thought this bookstore had the space for those who needed peace in the smell of books. I absolutely loved this place!

2. Primrose Hill Books

Primrose Hill Books

Primrose Hill Books

This bookstore is located near Chalk Farm station, and the place was quiet and beautiful (the appearance of blue sky complemented the nice weather). No one was inside and the owner greeted me friendly, which I quite liked. Primrose Hill Books sells new books as well as secondhand books, and the ones outside the stores are the ones with special offers. The place was clean and nice like the other bookstores I have been to, and a collection of books were neatly displayed on shelves and tables, which was pleasant to see. I did buy a book at this bookstore called The Lost Estate by Alain-Fournier for my dad as a present… but I’m reading it first before I give it to him. *shh*

3. The Cartoon Museum

Cartoon Museum

Cartoon Museum

Before going inside the actual museum, there is a space for a collection of children’s books and comic books that you can look through on your own time. This museum is situated near the British Museum, but there are not many people who go in and out of this place. The store had a collection of comic books and graphic novels, which I loved to skim through and look around. They also had a collection of children’s books such as Alice in Wonderland with an ornate cover. The store sells new books, gifts such as cups, and unique funny postcards with vintage cartoon drawings. I might buy some of those postcards to write to my family. I was also very tempted to buy the graphic novel V for Vendetta.

That was all for today’s bookstore hunt. Do you know other bookstores that I should go visit?

LINKS

Judd Books website: http://www.juddbooks.com/

Primrose Hill Books website: http://www.primrosehillbooks.com/

Cartoon Museum website: http://www.cartoonmuseum.org/

6 comments on “Bookstore Hunt #1

  1. sequinsandcherryblossom
    February 18, 2013

    I hope you enjoy London, Kim! 🙂 So many bookshops have closed down recently, they’re hard to find. Do you know the London Review Of Books shop in Bloomsbury?

    • Kim
      February 18, 2013

      Nope, but I just checked their website and I think I will visit that bookshop also. Thank you!

      • sequinsandcherryblossom
        February 18, 2013

        The cafe’s nice too.

      • Kim
        February 18, 2013

        I was planning to go to a bookstore called ‘review’, which is on Bellenden Road. The one you recommended is a different book store?

      • sequinsandcherryblossom
        February 18, 2013

        Yes – I meant the one at 14 Bury Place, London, WC1A 2JL

      • Kim
        February 18, 2013

        I was a bit confused. Thank you for giving the exact address 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2013 by in Books, Travel and tagged , , , , , , .
